The most ancient, of the remaining architectural constructions of Khiva, is Sheikh Seyid Allauddin’s mausoleum, dating back to the early part of the XIV century.
It was a gurkhona (the tomb) with one dome in the form of a triangular flat sail. Then, the ziarat-khona (the praying place) with a portal and the entrance (functioning at present) was attached to this gurkhona in the XVIII century in the west wing. The initial entrance to the tomb has been taken out, and the arch aperture is arranged in its western wall, in an adjunction to the ziaratkhona.
The mausoleum was extensively repaired in 1825. The ziaratkhona’s decayed portal was reinstated with its pillars reduced in size, the niches in the interior were added, and the floor was laid anew and the interior covered with gunch (gypsum) plaster. It is decorated only with poetry and calligraphically written out in Indian ink, which narrates that the restoration was made by the order of Allakuli-khan (1825-1842) and that the construction trustee, khodzha, was Khamid, Khubbi-Kuli khodzha son. The deformed laying was strengthened. The area around the mausoleum is arranged well and its ancient aspect was diligently restored after excavations in 1957.