Kurinishkhona (the Khan’s waiting room) was constructed by the Khivan governor the Arang-khan in 1686-1688.
Kurinishkhona consists of several premises: an open court yard (ayvan), a hall with a throne and lateral rooms in the western part of the court yard.
The court yard walls are covered by majolica tiles, making various plant-geometrical patterns. The majolica facing of the ayvan is dated to the Allakuli-khan’s time (1825-1842). The Kunya-Ark summer mosque ceiling was painted anew during restoration in 1933-1934. The ayvan is prominent on a high platform, and has two carved columns, and is allocated the central place, where the reception ceremony was held and state affairs were managed. This place is underpinned by an atmosphere of solemnity and the official character of the kurinishkhona.